Skip to content ↓
The Buckingham School

The Buckingham School

9 -1 Grading for GCSEs 

Starting in 2017 with English and Maths, new GCSEs in England will be graded from 9 to 1, with 9 being the top grade. 

Students taking GCSEs in England will receive a mixture of number and letter grades. English Language, English Literature and Maths are the first subjects to use the new system, with most other subjects adopting numbers by 2019. Eventually all GCSEs taken in England will receive numerical grades.

This section of the website provides useful information to help parents understand and suppor their knowledge of the new GCSE Grades.

Useful Links 

9 - 1 Ofqual News - March 2018

BBC article: